Well then. That’s that.

Chemo over.  Job done.  Caped Cancer Crusaders can now stand down.  It’s time to make way for the Wellness Fairy.

FANFARE!!  POM POMS!!  DANCING GIRLS!!

Looking back over the past few months seems completely unreal, and I’m not finished yet – however, the last chemo trip went well…….

Having spent the early part of chemo treatment being constantly early for the appointments, TDB and I made up for it by being late for the last two.

The previous one was not our fault – delayed train back from the IITT Awards in London meant a very rushed dash from the station at York to the hospital.

This one was our fault as TDB’s pudding wasn’t done.

Let me explain…..

Regular readers of my blog will know that the cancer team at York Hospital have, in our view, been utterly brilliant.  Supportive, realistic, caring and no-nonsense in ways that have helped us immensely.  So, TDB wanted to do something for them to express our thanks.

Not for us the box of chocolates/tin of biscuits/card & flowers.  Oh no.  The Pudding Meister was on the case and noone was stopping him.

TDB has always been an excellent pastry cook – so Pear & Almond Tart was the choice and the baking kicked off mid-morning of Last Chemo Day.  Plenty of time.  We needed to leave about 1.15pm, so all was good.

At 1.25pm I was getting a little nervous.

At 1.30pm I was getting bundled into the car, with a red hot Pear & Almond Tart on my lap held in an oven glove.  It’s a twenty minute journey at the best of times, along little country lanes, the A19, the dreaded ring road.  The road works at the dreaded ring road.  The eejits who block the roundabouts on the ring road.  The mad fools who try and force their way through the blocked roundabouts on the ring road and cause more trouble …

So, we get to the hospital and explode out of the car with a red hot tart in our hands.  Not something I thought I would ever say in this blog.

We scorch up the stairs and go to the waiting room – and I’m called straight in for my oncologist appointment.

Hmm.  What to do with the tart??

We’ll take it with us.  Excellent plan.

You try having a sensible conversation with your oncologist whilst your Dearly Beloved is holding a warm Pear & Almond Tart in a pair of red flowery oven gloves.

So – the low down on my prognosis was duly delivered by the oncologist – ‘Your prognosis is good.  Have a nice life, pick up your tamoxifen from the pharmacy before you leave.’

And that was that.

Next up.  Caped Cancer Crusaders for the last time.  I don’t think I have ever wished away an hour of my life faster than I did that one.  In they went, one at a time, all the same old side effects kicking in – prickly tingly ness of the nether regions, freezing face, eyeballs out on sticks, slow descent of fug.

BUT I DID NOT CARE.

Because I wouldn’t have to do it again.

I finished my post chemotherapy drugs yesterday for the last time.  I got a bit emotional about that.

I got over it.

Next up, new boob on the 11th April.

So this part of the journey now ends.  Thanks all for being there with me on the Crazy Chemo Charabanc – your support has been awesome and the comments have really cheered me up.

But now it is time to focus on getting better, and the focus of the blog will reflect that.

Onward and upward.  Broad sunlight uplands.  All that.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Denise McCallum
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 15:34:20

    Wooohooo, did the consultant not ask about the tart lol

    Reply

  2. John Wyllie
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 15:34:36

    Yay for team Whyatt! I’ve been following the blogs and am over the moon. And my ambassador with these new boobs… you are really spoiling us!!

    I’m majorly made up for you! Love to you and yours Sheena! x x x

    Reply

  3. Penny Hardie
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 17:31:10

    Glad to hear that the blog will continue… one of the highlights of my ‘virtual life’, but even more glad that the chemo is over. Go Team Whyatt!

    Reply

  4. Sandy Cannings
    Mar 02, 2011 @ 10:05:00

    You are truly amazing Sheena! I was so looking forward to reading this post after your last chemo treatment and you didn’t let me down! I laughed out loud at the red hot tart being carried in a pair of red flowery oven gloves! Hope your oncologist appreciated all the effort!

    You’ve got your holiday in Gran Canaria to look forward to and your new boob … then you can go on a well deserved massive spending spree because of course you will need new tops to show off your new figure!

    Take care and continue to get better and better.

    Love Sandy (your fellow bosom pal)
    xxx

    Reply

  5. Brenda
    Mar 06, 2011 @ 02:34:55

    I’m so happy for you dear…hang in there!

    Reply

  6. Pat
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 13:54:22

    I am a colleague of Sandy’s and have followed your inspirational blog. I am so happy for you that all your treatment is over and you TDB can now go away and enjoy your much deserved holiday in Gran Canaria and get yourself well and truly better. I shall look forward to keeping up with all your progress and giving us smiles in your blog. Pat x

    Reply

  7. Shirley Hill
    May 05, 2011 @ 17:16:13

    Sheena

    I have been there but with bowel cancer. Surgery followed by 30 weeks chemo every week. I was then told I possibly had 5 years. I am now 8 years on, everything is fine. I still have annual check ups and I am not complacement. I think myself well and do not usually discuss it unless I can help somebody else with similar issues.

    Reply

Leave a comment