It’s time to get off the cancer bus….

Wow.

This time last year I was getting ready for the IITT awards and wondering how to fit a thermal vest under evening wear.

This Thursday, I am going again as a finalist for Trainer of the Year.

No issues with baldness, lack of eyebrows/lashes, inability to keep warm or, indeed, having to go for a chemotherapy treatment the next day.

Nope.  Not me.  This year, I shall be meeting TDB in London and we are both looking forward to the evening immensely.

What have I learnt then over the past year?  Has cancer changed me?  Do I feel differently about myself and others?  Have I had a major life turnaround?

Well – yes, and no.

I have learned who my friends & support network really are, and who was just in it for the short game.

I have learned not to waste emotional energy on friendships that don’t repay my investment.

I have learned not to feel guilty about this.

I have learned to focus on what I can achieve, and not what I think I should achieve.

I have recognised that I need to look after myself emotionally as well as physically.

I have bought a Zumba Wii game (see second part of previous comment).

I don’t work 12 hour days just because I run my own business and external influences think I should.

I value time with my family & friends, and I make sure I get lots of it.

I take throwing each empty packet of tamoxifen in the bin as a little victory against cancer.

I recognise that not everyone I know realises I have had cancer.

I recognise that not everyone is comfortable with my head on approach to talking about it and dealing with it.

I don’t feel I am a ‘victim’ of cancer.

I don’t feel there is anything I could have done to avoid getting it either.

I don’t want it again thanks.

I realise this is not up to me.

And I am good with all of the above.

I plan to put a bit back.  I am going to put together my award winning cancer blogs into a Kindle book and use it to raise money for Breast Cancer awareness.  I’ll let you know when that is available for you to buy and your purchase will help other women in the fight against this horrid thing.

This blog won’t go away, but will then focus on other things.

It’s been fun, but it’s time to get off the cancer bus now and focus on the broad sunlit uplands.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shelley Fishel
    Jan 30, 2012 @ 16:48:14

    Sheena

    You are a truly inspirational person and I am proud to be your friend. Well done on coming through and on your brilliant perspective on life the universe and everything.

    Good luck on Thursday too!

    Reply

  2. Andrew Donnelly (@Dinalli)
    Jan 30, 2012 @ 19:42:13

    Time to get on the Fun Bus ..

    Only Kindle, I would be happy to do the iBooks version for you if you wish too.

    Reply

  3. Heather
    Jan 30, 2012 @ 20:57:43

    Woooha! I will always be on the cancer bus, but as the conductor, hopefully helping people get off at the right destination. I love seeing people disembark at your stop….and never getting back on again. That doesn’t mean you can’t give other people your guidebook…..so I think putting your blogs together is a brilliant idea. Well done hon. A journey well made.

    Reply

  4. Detective Denise
    Feb 05, 2012 @ 19:22:29

    Sheena, you have been an inspiration and support to me on my journey, enjoy alighting the bus :o)

    Reply

  5. Brenda cross
    Feb 06, 2012 @ 02:42:14

    You are definitely awesome Sheena!

    Reply

Leave a comment